Holiday Spirit

Events & Experiences by Christy Garrard

Tis’ the Season to buy Babies

PHOTO BY: GREG GILBERT / THE SEATTLE TIMES

Business & Technology | Glassybaby founder Lee Rhodes was inspired by adversity | Seattle Times Newspaper.

VIDEO:  2lyuxk92

I LOVE Glassybaby.  In fact, I am probably almost as addicted to Glassybaby as I am to coffee.  Why?  They are beautiful.  They are handmade, locally.  They are a superior gift to flowers (both giving and receiving).  Many colors benefit charities or nonprofits, making a gift even more personal.

I have my husband to thank.  He got “us” started collecting.  Founder, Lee Rhodes says there are now 400 colors to choose from.  We own a lot, but not THAT many…. yet?

For me, a Glassybaby collection is the equivelent to my 64 count Crayola Crayon Box from childhood.  So many colors, so many options.  SO MUCH HAPPINESS.

I move my collection around often, especially during the holidays; EVERY holiday.  We prefer them in groupings of three, six, or eight.

Yes they are expensive for a votive candle holder but:

  • they are handmade locally
  • they don’t wilt, they can last forever
  • one starts the opportunity to begin a collection over time
  • they are modern but work in all decor
  • they are substantial enough to use when entertaining outdoors
  • they are pretty even when not lit
  • they are fun to play with, mixing and matching, creating custom combos

O.k., I’ll stop.

Six Word Story:  Tis’ the Season to buy babies.

No comments yet»

Leave a comment